Making Connections at Sites

Our first week started at top speed. Teachers are excited about the new materials for math, we just need to get them in all teachers hands. My first assignment, move materials around until all teachers have what they need and the extras are where they need to be. It’s big.

There is a positive side to this. I’m connecting with the coaches at all sites and making appearances and connections that might not have been made for another couple of weeks. I’m being given the opportunity to problem solve and interact in helpful ways that are allowing sites to see that I am available, visible, and willing. I sat down with the elementary teacher at our Independent Studies program, and was able to hear her concerns, needs and being overwhelmed with over 100 boxes of materials, which I am going to be able to get out of her way and on to other sites where they are desperately needed. She has two 4th grade students at the moment and materials for over 100 K-5 students! Yowsa!

The week passed by so quickly that I could barely keep up. I did manage to get quite a few things accomplished other than the materials issue. I’m creating a schedule for my sites (19 for those of you who haven’t caught that, plus Independent Studies) to make sure that I get out to them twice a month. I can see that is going to be huge this year with the change in our math program and expectations. I will be meeting with K-2 and 3-5 leads from each site an additional once a month to create a PLC and work collaboratively to lesson plan, model lessons, problem solve and work creatively to build a strong and consistent math program for all our student across the district, almost 8000 elementary students! I’m very excited about this.

I know this year is going to be busy, but I am very hopeful about the foundations we can begin building to help our program become strong, equitable, and an important start for our students in their continued success throughout their K-12 careers. I found myself exhausted when I was finally able to stop on Friday, but content that some progress had been made. We have a great team of leaders, and I’m looking forward to working with them consistently.

I usually like to be more organized in my methods, have a plan ready before I start, even if the plan needs to change. I’ve had to improvise quite a bit this week, but am glad to report that I can still dance pretty quickly and change directions when needed without too much prior notice. Not too bad for a grandma of six! I am flexible and can think pretty quickly, which is going to come in very handy this year.

Leave a Reply

