July Challenge – TMC Excitement Rising

So, I’ve been talking with several of the teachers who will be at TMC next week. I’m trying to decide which morning session I need to be in, with my change of focus at work now. If there was an elementary math session, that would be the one definitely, however, there isn’t. Group Work looks good, and Writing Real-World Math Lessons also looks good, as well as the Pre-Calculus I’m currently signed up for, just because I love Pre-Calculus. I may have to decide next week. I wish I could go to all of them, which is exactly the sentiment among many of the teachers.

I’ve been looking at twitter most of the day today, finding myself trying to switch gears to discussions which focus more on coaching ideas and providing professional development, since that is what I will be doing now. I still find myself getting caught in the “what’s good for kids” discussions too, because ultimately, that’s what my work will be focusing on as the outcome. Helping teachers provide good teaching is what’s good for kids and our big goal is student learning. The more I think about it, the more excited I get.

I spoke with the assistant superintendent again today. She’s ordered a computer for me, and has given me the names of my contacts to get me into my office area and get settled logistically. This is really happening! After being down and unmotivated for a good portion of the summer, it’s nice to be getting excited and motivated about things. I usually work through the summer at approximately 90 miles an hour (my average speed). And I’m not ADD.

I think Elizabeth said it best,Screen Shot 2014-07-18 at 4.32.39 PM

So I am planning on going to Oklahoma, seeing my sister and brother-in-law, meeting lots of new friends, and learning whole bunches of new stuff. What more could a person ask for?

Leave a Reply

