July Challenge – Five Things I Need in my Classroom

I am truly enjoying this blogging challenge, and getting to know some new MTBoS members as a result. I truly appreciate the good teaching that is out there, and am glad to be a part of the discussions and encouragement to continually strive to be the best teacher I can be. 

I decided to think about the five things for my classroom because I am changing schools this year and have some new challenges awaiting me. 

1. Technology knowledge. I have transferred to a New Tech Network school and focus is on PBL, technology and inquiry based learning. The technology is my challenge, in my previous school I did not have a lot of access to technology in my classroom and the ability to use the computer lab was hampered by access, size, working computers and programs to name a few. I need to think about how to change this and how to change my teaching since each of my students is now required to have a device with them each day. I am excited about this, just know that I have some work to do. 

2. Love the document camera. There is nothing like being able to have students walk up and share their work, or have immediate overhead access to something written. 

3. Group collaboration. I need students working together, talking, sharing and teaching each other. They learn better this way, understand better this way, and create relationships. I love Roxy’s idea about changing groups weekly and randomly and am thinking about how to use this in my class.  

4. Wisdom. I love to have sayings and wise words displayed on the walls at all times. I want students to be thinking, reflecting and challenging themselves, and try to find words of wisdom to get them thinking about all things life, not just mathematics. 

5. My PLN. I could not be the teacher I am without a strong PLN and am grateful for the colleagues with whom I share ideas, write activities and lesson plans, talk over lessons and challenge me to really look at my practice and teaching. 

There is so much we can do in our classrooms. I plan to use this challenge and summer to look at my part in each of my student’s learning and lives this year and refocus my energy to this next year. 

2 thoughts on “July Challenge – Five Things I Need in my Classroom

  1. druinok says:

    I can’t wait to hear your take on PBL and inquiry learning!

  2. I have learn several good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking
    for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you set to create such a magnificent informative web
    site.

Leave a Reply

