July Challenge – My Bookshelf

I love the posting topics so far for the July challenge. This one could have been written just for me. I am a book lover. All kinds of books, fiction, non-fiction, history, music, politics, you name it, I read it. I am unable to list titles unfortunately, because I have too many. Whenever someone is trying to buy a gift for me, a book is the best bet. Our home is covered with bookcases that are full. I have taken pictures of the wall in the office where I keep my professional library to post here.

I need to be more focused this year about reading some of my books. I have purchased several that I have not had time to read, mainly because I took on way too much last year and didn’t have any time for reading. My list to tackle this summer:

1. Diana Gabaldon – Written in My Own Heart’s Blood. This was my fun fiction to start with, and I have already finished it.  Love this series set in the 1700’s.

2. NCTM – Principles to Actions – Currently reading this. Love this book, there is some great information here.

3. Max Ray – Powerful Problem Solving. Wanted to join the discussion on twitter for this one but just couldn’t find the time to read it.

4. Walter Lewin – For the Love of Physics. Wendy Menard and I are hoping to do a book study on this together, both feeling we could use some application knowledge.

5. Steven Strogatz – The Joy of X. I bought this in NOLA, and hope to get to it.

6. Dan Rothstein – Make Just One Change. Rik Rowe has been tweeting quotes from this and it looks too good to pass up.

That’s a pretty long list, fortunately I’m a fast reader, and there are several books in the wings I would like to get to if there is time.  I could easily read these and more if I weren’t so involved in trying to keep up with twitter, blogs, family, and planning for next year; not necessarily in that order. 😀

I love reading and learning, and am fortunate that this love seems to have rubbed off on my kids and grandkids. We spend time reading and discussing books they have read, and creating stories of their own which they beautifully illustrate. Books are a wonderful way to learn, grow, and connect with others.

 

 

3 thoughts on “July Challenge – My Bookshelf

  1. Brooke says:

    I’m ashamed at how little I’ve ready lately! Definitely need to make it more of a priority. I need some good math books that aren’t too ridiculously complicated.

  2. I had fun playing “spot the textbook” on your second pic!

    I always find reading a book more rewarding than reading tweets or blogs. I think it has to do with what I bring to a book — the expectations that my reading is more significant and less temporary.

    Let us know how the reading goes? There’s probably going to be a GMD group reading Principles to Action later this summer.

Leave a Reply

